At the annual awards ceremony for the best footballers and team leaders in the outgoing year, which is held under the auspices of the International Football Federation (FIFA), a footballer was determined who, according to the organizers, deserved to receive the title of Best Player of the Year.

At the initial stage of voting, a list of eleven candidates was selected, which included the Juventus footballer Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara, Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah, Virgil Van Dijk (all - Liverpool), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Kylian Mbappé, Neymar (PSG), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid).

"I am very proud and very satisfied. This is a great day for me and my club. I have to say Thank you. This award belongs to my teammates and coaches of Bayern Munich and Poland."

"When you win such an award in the era of Messi and Ronaldo, it means an incredible amount. It's a wonderful feeling."

"This award is a confirmation that no matter where you are from and what your name is, what matters is what you show. We won everything we could."

In the 2019/20 season, the Polish striker managed to score 55 goals in 47 matches played, and in the new football year he developed an effective streak with 18 goals in 17 matches. According to the portal Transfermarkt, the cost of the striker is 60 million euros.

The organizers took into account the period from July 20, 2019 to October 7, 2020. Recall that earlier the best goalkeeper was Manuel Neuer, and the head coach was Jurgen Klopp. Also, the FIFA Team of the Year was announced, in which there was a place for unexpected candidates.