Traditionally, the World Championship selection will consist of two stages. First, the group stage and then the playoffs, fighting for the tickets to the Mundial.

The European continent will be represented by thirteen national teams at the World Championship. As always, in order to be in the finals, the teams need either to be the winners in their groups or to take second place and fight for the place in the finals by winning the playoffs.

There will be ten groups in total (5 to 5 teams and 5 to 6 teams). French, Spanish, Italian, and Belgian national teams will be in the five-handed group because they compete in the Nations League final.

On the threshold of the draw for the 2022 World Cup qualification, seeded teams have been confirmed by FIFA.

Pot 1: Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain
Pot 2: Austria, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Wales
Pot 3: Czech Republic, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Russia, Iceland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland
Pot 4: Albania, Belarus, Bulgaria, Bosnia, Georgia, Israel, Luxembourg, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Slovenia
Pot 5: Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania
Pot 6: Gibraltar, Liechtenstein, Malta, Moldova, San Marino

Groups A - J will be completed by sorting teams in alphabetical order. All the teams in the group will play with each other two times, home and away. The matches will take place between March and November 2021.

The draw for the qualifying stage for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar will be held on Monday, December 7 at 19:00 GMT+2 at UEFA headquarters in Zurich.

Like the latest similar events, the drawing process will take via video conference. National team representatives will not be present there.